PDA

View Full Version : What do I need to know about Cocobolo?

Joe McMahon
12-17-2011, 3:33 PM
I've been asking a LOT of questions over the past several days and here are the reasons why: I learned to turn yesterday. I have five children (four girls) I have five grandchildren Christmas is next week!!!!!!! I am making five peppermills, five pizza cutters, five ice cream scoops and three screwdrivers ( three sons-in-law). Of course each daughter wants her own wood, so these are made in oak, hard maple, walnut, and cherry(2). I bought a piece of cocobolo and have turned that for a screwdriver. After sanding to 600, it still had scratches so I wet sanded to 12000. It now is dull, but not scratched. I have never used cocobolo before. My questions are these: Does cocobolo require any special glue or will 5 minute epoxy work? Any special prep before adding finish, any special sanding steps? How about finishing? lacquer, WOP, shellac? Sorry for all of the newbie questions but I think I hear sleigh bells coming.............

Jim Burr
12-17-2011, 3:53 PM
Congratz on all the family!!! To make sure you stay around for a long time...lung protection is mandatory for most rosewoods. USDA list Cocobolo as one of the most toxic woods around. I had a custom guitar made several years ago and the luthier asked I not request cocobolo...being an understanding sort, I let him off the hook. You should be able to polish out the cocobolo...it should cut well and need a light sanding to 600...0000 steel wool and your on your way! Wipe it down with DNA or even regular alcohol and the glue/epoxy. It takes on a great patina after using it for a while...not to much of a finish needed.

John Beaver
12-17-2011, 4:02 PM