PDA

View Full Version : Need Air

Dan Kralemann
12-13-2011, 10:42 PM
Hello,

I would like to get an air compressor to blow the dust and grit off of my projects between the changes in sanding grits. I will also use it to blow the dust out of the chuck and off of the lathe. I have no experience with using a compressor. Before I purchase one, I would like to know from you as to your experiences with how many gallon tank size that I should consider as a minimum for what I have stated that I would like to use it for.

Thank you,
Dan

Marty Eargle
12-13-2011, 10:52 PM
I have a small, portable compressor meant for blowing off grit next to my lathe...it is 125 PSI and probably just at a gallon. Works just fine for all my lathing needs. Though I also have a 4 gallon compressor for larger tasks and putting air in tires. I would probably go ahead an get one with enough power for use with the lathe plus more. Better to have more than you need than not enough.

curtis rosche
12-13-2011, 10:58 PM
search craigslist for an old quiet one with a large capacity.

Bob Bergstrom
12-13-2011, 11:06 PM
I have a Borg compressor (30 gal.) which has an oil reservoir. They are much quieter than oilless. It meets all my needs from cleaning to spraying or running cut off tools.

Steve Schlumpf
12-13-2011, 11:46 PM
Dan - if you haven't been around compressors, the first thing you will note is that they are loud! Especially the oil-less versions! If you are just planning on using it to blow the dust off your lathe, you will not need a very big unit. However, Marty brings up a valid point in that it is better to have more of a system than less...

I have a 5 hp 20 gallon unit and it does everything that I need but it is heavy to haul around. Good luck with your search!

robert baccus
12-13-2011, 11:47 PM