PDA

View Full Version : Shenhui almost rdy to order- any thoughts

Eric Ucci
12-11-2011, 10:39 PM
I'm new to the post in the last week. I have extensive experience with cnc routers and mills. I always wanted to try a laser. Then, a couple weeks ago I had an opportunity to use autodesk's "123d make" with some epilogue routers and I got the bug. Well, I'm not not loaded and I cant afford an epilogue, so I'm in the market for an affordable Chinese laser. I've never purchased directly from China, so it was a little daunting. However, after hunting up and down discussion posts for a while I have become a convert, mostly due to Rodne G. and George P.

For the most part, I expect to use the machine for 1/8" baltic birch assembled models. I work professionally with Inventor and several other software apps so generating the 3d models and cut files is a breeze. I'm approaching this from the perspective of a sculptor, with the intention to use this as a quick method of prototyping. In another life I was quite prolific and now after years of kids, job, etc. I'd like to get back into it. I don't need a large machine, however, I figure a good 80w Reci with a large table gives me the most options. Id like to be able to cut 1/8"-3/4" Baltic Birch, 1/8"-3/4" acrylic. But, I'd also like to cut some very thin plastics as well, in order to create thin membranes over wood structures. I would also like to be able to cut and label 1/8" cardboard to use for quick "throw away" prototypes.

I've had a lengthy correspondence with Ms. Wang at Shenhui and this is where we're at.

Shenhui SH-1512 (as configured $4,400) shipping and fees we're still working out
80w Reci Laser
Power supply - AC220v
Working area - 1500x1200
Max moving speed – 3000mm/min
Worktable – honeycomb
Auto focus (Ive seen mixed reviews on this) with Motorized lift table
Imported Linear Rails & Blocks from Taiwan
Resolution – 4500dpi
System Environment – Win2000/Winxp
Software-Lasercut 5.3
Water chiller CW5000