PDA

View Full Version : Trying out a new idea

Richard Kennedy UK
12-11-2011, 12:16 PM
Evening everyone (well it is here in the UK) Do you ever get the urge to try something different, something new that maybe has been rattling about in the darker corners of your mind? Well this is one of my more obscure ideas Its something I have never tried before based of a heap of things I have seen from funky architecture to micro organisms (I look at lots of things) I think it works (that is to say I quite like it) but would appreciate the input of others I posted this on FB which was fine and the UK forum woodworkers institute - mixed views however I am of the firm belief that the US and well most of the world have sometimes a more open mind to new ideas so I thought I would ask you sage lot! Its a piece of Lime about 8inches across. I turned the bowl about 1/2 inch thick then attacked it with the saburr and typhoon burrs wow do they shift wood! Tidied that up with the fine kutzall burr and then I spent a week decorating it with the pyro pen and a new skew tip which was great to use. The discovery of tips as opposed to bent wire has been a revelation! Anyway if you could chip in with your thoughts I would appreciate it! Thanks for looking

Scott Hackler
12-11-2011, 12:28 PM
Very nice Richard. Geez, get a Foredom and you really start removing the wood! The angles of the design really compliment the voids. I am really drawn toward the "out of the box" turnings and this is just that. Very neat and something you should continue to pursue.

Curt Fuller
12-11-2011, 12:42 PM
Totally Molecular!;) My first thought was of those chemical diagrams they used to show us in school while I was trying to sleep.