PDA

View Full Version : Heated floor. In the concrete or laid on top between the strapping?

Steven Green
12-08-2011, 4:24 AM
I'm about to pour the floor for my new shop addition. My question is woud it be worth my time to embed pex in the floor or since I'm going to put oak down on strapping for the finish floor would I be ahead to just lay the pipe in the bays between the strapping? The new addition is 1000 sq ft and the old addition is the same. I'ts got radiant in the floor that runs in the concrete. I like the way it heats the floor and the shop so I thought I'd ask our brain trust.

Dan Hintz
12-08-2011, 6:43 AM
I'm no expert in the field, but I imagine you'd want it buried in the concrete so it can act as a heat mass... it will take a while longer to heat up initially, but once heated it will be an even heat and stay that way for a while.

Mike Cutler
12-08-2011, 7:37 AM
Given a choice of those two systems. I'd go with slab heating, and put the flooring down on top of Elastilon instead of the strapping to get rid of the dead air space.

james glenn
12-08-2011, 7:39 AM
+1
I'm no expert in the field, but I imagine you'd want it buried in the concrete so it can act as a heat mass... it will take a while longer to heat up initially, but once heated it will be an even heat and stay that way for a while.

Also you will want to insulate under the slab so as not to waste energy by heating the ground. And, look up how the wood will react with the radiant floor. Oak is generally good, but some woods
do not work well with it.

Fred Belknap
12-08-2011, 8:04 AM
I suggest talking to someone with experience putting tubing in concrete. I have done lots of concrete and I'm sure that it takes some special skill or system to get the tubing in the wet concrete correctly.

jared herbert
12-08-2011, 8:09 AM