PDA

View Full Version : Thunderlaser Mars 160

Eric Ucci
12-07-2011, 10:11 AM
I have plenty on experience w CNC machines (routers, mills, etc). I have no experience with laser cutters.
I'd like to purchase one for my shop to allow me to quickly prototype sculptural ideas/design assembly kits for children/ and generally have fun messing around.
I'm trying to understand what justifies purchasing an American machine (Epilogue for example) when i can find a Chinese import at 1/5th the price.
In particular, I'm looking at the Mars line from Thunderlaser that I found on ebay.
I'm thinking that I should get the largest one possible to give me the most flexibility.

Here are the specs on the Mars 160
Price tag = $8,000 (no tax, free shipping)

CE certification and FDA Compliant
Control System: DSP control system
Memory:64Mb Buffer Memory for storing files
Interface:USB connection to PC( Compatible with Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7)
Work platform: Fixed honey comb platform
Work Area:1600 X800mm (63.0"X35.4") (260mm for motorized up/down table) (!WOW!)
Pass-Thru Doors:Allow to cut extremely long materials
Laser power: 80W
Laser Type:Sealed CO2 Glass tube laser
Laser Tube life hours: 2000-3000 Hours
Driving system: Stepper motor
Auxiliary equipments: Exhaust-fans, air-exhaust pipe
Cooling type: Water cooling
Operating Temperature: 32° - 113° F (0° - 45° C)
Operating humidity: 8 - 95%
Max Speed: 600mm/S (23.6"/S)
Resetting positioning accuracy: ±0.1mm
Resolution: User controlled from 100 to 500DPI(standard model),up to 1000 DPI(High resolution attachment)
Compatible software: CorelDraw X2/X3/X4, AutoCAD
Graphic format supported: JPG,PNG,BMP, PLT, DST, DXF, CDR,AI,DSB,GIF,MNG,TIF,TGA,PCX,JP2,JPC,PGX,RAS,PNM ,SKA,RAW
Power Requirements:AC220V (or110V) ±10% 50/60HZ
Gross power:<1,500W
Net Weight: 330KGS(727lb)
Gross Weight:410KGS(903lb)
Machine size:2250X1300X1060mm(88.6"X51.2"X41.7")
Packing Size:2450X1500X1300mm(96.4"X59.0"X51.2")
Packing: Plywood Case