PDA

View Full Version : WOP problems

Scott Hackler
12-04-2011, 9:13 PM
I am fairly new to using WOP (again, because I couldn't get it to work like i wanted the first time) and had some decent success with the last few projects....BUT, I have recently had a couple pieces that even after a couple days in my 65 degrees heated shop and they were still tacky. :(

So off it came with a bit of thinner, I shook the heck out of the can and am going to see what tomorrow brings. FYI, this can is less than 1/2 full now and I apply it with a clean paper towel each time using a drag method after completely soaking the the piece.

John Keeton
12-04-2011, 9:17 PM
Scott, what did you do first? BLO? Just curious. Weather has a lot to do with it, too. Even in a heated shop the humidity could be high.

Scott Hackler
12-04-2011, 9:25 PM
I might have BLO'd them first, but I would have wiped them dry and waited overnight. I think after Kelly Dunn suggested skipping BLO because its already in WOP and that BLO might attract water if and when I start selling things that will go to more humid parts of the country. I always used it to "pop" the grain and truth be told, I almost always poured BLO inside the forms and made sure the inside was coated as well. ???????

John Keeton
12-04-2011, 9:27 PM
Scott, my experience is that BLO extends the cure time substantially. I usually use shellac over the BLO, and wait 3 days before applying WOP. If I start sooner, the first coat will take at least 2 days to dry.

Richard Allen
12-04-2011, 9:30 PM
I like the wipe on - wipe off method. If I let the stuff sit for even 10 minutes before wiping it off the stuff can be a mess.