PDA

View Full Version : Veritas bench accessories

Mike Holbrook
12-04-2011, 9:59 AM
I am about to build a Rubo bench in conjunction with my redesign of my shop to accommodate my growing interest in hand tools. I am especially interested in the Rubo designs that reduce the need for complicated space eating vises. I am thinking in terms of a bench with movable accessories & jigs as opposed to fixed ones. The main bench design would use a crochet and sliding dead man on the side and dog holes and bench jigs/accessories on the top. I like the idea of being able to use the same accessories in the same holes in the top & sides of the bench. I have two Gramercy Hold Fasts. I am studying all the bench accessories Lee Valley offers in an effort to find the best movable devises to clamp work. I am looking for smaller more flexible jigs/fixtures that do not permanently occupy space on the edges of my bench, particularly the ends & corners of the bench. I am most interested in devices that are designed to work in the 3/4" round holes I plan to use on the top & sides of my bench. I am planing to build a Moxon type vise as my main/only? vise, as it can be attached and removed quickly as needed.

I am interested in hearing any & all testimony regarding the effectiveness and utility of the various Veritas bench accessories or any other bench accessories that will work in 3/4" holes or clamped to the edge/side/top of a bench.

Jim Matthews
12-04-2011, 11:07 AM
Not to monopolize responses, here are two observations that might be buried in the other thread -

The surface clamps are VERY versatile, and I use them frequently.
On the occasions I would use a bench blade, a 3/4" dowel will frequently suffice. (You do need to wax those, for removal.)

I'm on the fence about the bench pups - they can get me out of a jam holding flat stock, but so can a simple twin screw clamp.