PDA

View Full Version : CO2 Laser Scribing Silicon Wafer?

Bill Jermyn
12-01-2011, 6:12 PM
Does anyone have any experience/tips for scribing 16 mil silicon wafers? Can it be done?

Rich Harman
12-01-2011, 6:34 PM
I have no experience but I have heard that silicon is transparent to CO2 wavelengths.

Dan Hintz
12-02-2011, 8:25 AM
Not with a CO2... a low-wattage YAG/Fiber would do it quite well, though...

Martin Boekers
12-02-2011, 9:43 AM
Not sure of the make up, but I have a handful of Discs probably from the sixties in a veriety of sizes
that were taken from main frame computers. In the past we have rotary engraved on them and I have
lasered a few (though it's been a while) They are copper on color and if I recall correctly it sort of bleached the
color out, don't remember offhand if it actually deep etched or not.

Is this the type of thing you are looking to do? Old computer discs? If so I'll dig one out and try it, post a photo
and settings of the results.

Joe Hillmann
12-02-2011, 10:06 AM
What are you trying to do with them?

Lee DeRaud
12-02-2011, 10:23 AM
Not sure of the make up, but I have a handful of Discs probably from the sixties in a veriety of sizes
that were taken from main frame computers. In the past we have rotary engraved on them and I have
lasered a few (though it's been a while) They are copper on color and if I recall correctly it sort of bleached the
color out, don't remember offhand if it actually deep etched or not.Those are iron oxide (high-tech rust, same stuff as on mag tape) coated onto aluminum platters. Sounds like they behave about the same as anodized or painted aluminum.

Bill Jermyn
12-02-2011, 3:09 PM
No, these are silicon wafers to be used to manufacture computer chips. The idea is to score them with a laser so that they can be subsequently broken into chips, much as you would cut glass.

matthew knott
12-03-2011, 8:19 AM