PDA

View Full Version : Military Logos are licensed now?

Steve Clarkson
12-01-2011, 2:49 PM
I just read in the LazerBuzz newsletter that the administration (?) just instituted a new law that you need to get a license to use military logos.......

I guess he also had a little problem with that Turnkey Laser guy.........

Mark Patoka
12-01-2011, 3:04 PM
I had no idea it was so controlled and I'm an Air Force vet and currently employee. Here is a DoD link on use of various service trademarks: http://www.defense.gov/trademarks. I knew there were specific usage restrictions on displaying certain emblems for internal usage but didn't realize you had to purchase a license agreement. Looks like the military is trying to offset some of the drastic budget cuts we're experiencing. I see the Air Force has a list of approved vendors you can buy from.

Chuck Stone
12-01-2011, 4:12 PM
the logos have always been trademarked. But they are fairly easy to work with. They'll
want you to fill out an application and possibly submit samples so that they know that
the marks are not being used incorrectly. It didn't cost anything for a hobby/small
business license when I applied.

Martin Boekers
12-01-2011, 4:41 PM
Military and DOD Logos and shield etc have been controlled for quite a while.
They may be taking things to a new level. The MC I believe if you do under $5k
you just fill out a "quick form" Most branches don't charge and will give you a release.
Making it a License seems to me just to make it official.

Some seal such as the official Seal of the President are only allowed for official business.
I doubt the AF is going to make money on this, it will probably cost to monitor it more
than fees.

There are guidelines on how you may use or display them, take for instance, the AF Wings
you are limited on what you can put between the wings as for as size, positioning and content.

ASI folks will be hit because they are also limiting "givaway" merch.