PDA

View Full Version : Using Biscuits without Biscuit Jointer

Bill Wiggins
03-07-2005, 3:58 PM
I'm new to woodworking and decided that my first big project will be to build a bed for my grandson. It's a Captain's bed with shelving behind the headboard (Plans came from Knotty Plans). The shelving calls for #0 biscuits but I do not have a Biscuit Jointer.

Is there a method to creating the biscuit mortises using a 7 1/4" table saw or a router? Perhaps there's another method I could use instead of the biscuits?

Bill Smith

Ken Fitzgerald
03-07-2005, 4:06 PM
Bill....there router bits that you can buy that make biscuit slots. IIRC I've seen them sold at Sears.

Bryan Nuss
03-07-2005, 4:06 PM
You can use special router bits to cut slots for the biscuits.

MCLS has these bits, as do other manufacturers. See

http://mlcswoodworking.com/shopsite_sc/store/html/smarthtml/pages/biscuits.html

I am not associated with MCLS, but have had good experience with their bits.

Bill Wiggins
03-08-2005, 1:15 PM
Thanks for the input. Based on your feedback, I found a few options. I'll pick one up this weekend.

Thanks again.

Bill Smith

Chad Pater
03-08-2005, 3:26 PM
Bill just make sure the slot cutter you buy is for "0" biscuits and also that this option will only work on the side of boards and not in the middle of a panel.
Chad

David Miner
03-08-2005, 3:48 PM
Just a thought - How about a table saw with a 4" blade?

Does anyone think this could work if you were to:
1) Make a jig to hold the piece firmly in place?
2) Or, clamp the piece and slowly bring the blade up to a pre-set depth?

I think one or both of these could work. I hope to experiment soon. I will publish results, when I do.

Ray Bersch
03-08-2005, 6:11 PM