PDA

View Full Version : Band saw, Jointer or Planer? which should I buy?

Don Harrington
03-07-2005, 3:26 PM
I have been looking at band saws a lot lately. I have talked with Mini Max, Laguna and Agazzani, am I being foolish to buy one of these pretty expensive saws? I had a Delta 14" that I wasn't very impressed with so I sold it.
This would be may first "good" bandsaw. I am leaning toward the Mini Max MM16. however, I also need a jointer and a planer. Can Anyone out there steer me in the right direction. I have been making furniture for a couple of years—much of which I sell through galleries—and have made due with jig sawes and a drum sander but I think there must be a better way.

Did I mention that money needs to be prioritized wisely?

Jim Becker
03-07-2005, 3:43 PM
Don, first off, welcome to Sawmill Creek...a nice place to hang out.

I'm a firm believer in buying the best tools one can afford--especially if your livelyhood depends upon them, but even for those with woodworking as an avocation. I'm also a happy MM16 owner and the new version blows mine away! I can't help you choose which tools to buy; BS or the jointer and planer. (The latter two really are a pair--I ended up doing Mini Max there, too) It really depends on your needs towards the work you do.

joseph j shields
03-07-2005, 4:17 PM
Hello Don,

I am in a similar situation .... (except I have a planer)

I ended up buying the MiniMax s16 (hope to have it in a week)--- not quite up to the MM16.

As far as a planer.... they are cheap (compared to the MM16) and the 12" portables do a very good job. For about $450 you can get the DeWalt. My friend has one and the finished cut is remarkable... even in figured woods (no tear-out) I have the older DeWalt and is does a good job..

For a jointer, I'm thinking about a 8" from Grizzly for about $850.

Although I really wanted a MM16 bandsaw, for the price of the MM16, I got the S16 and have enough money leftover to buy the jointer.

Hope this helps!

-jj