PDA

View Full Version : Howdy!

Adam Blanton
11-29-2011, 1:02 PM
Just wanted to post my introduction.

I'm relatively new to woodworking and after some research have decided to go about it the neander way, figured I could equip my shop piece by piece for about the price of a nice cabinet saw and considering I'm not in any rush it would also be a good way to learn the craft. So far, I've talked to a few woodworkers in the Austin area, and taken a few classes with both hand and power tools. After reading a few books I've taken a liking to the anarchist's toolchest and like how it has a layout and explanation of some of the basic tools that work for building furniture.

Currently in the process of converting our 2 car garage to a shop, just tore down a wall separating the 2 garages so I've got a nice space to get things going.

After looking into a few more books on the subject, I saw some high recommendations of the Jointer and the Cabinietmaker, along with the plans in it for some basic projects. I was going to tackle some of those builds as my first few independent projects.

I've been lurking in the forums for a little while now and appreciate all the knowledge and advice!

Zach Dillinger
11-29-2011, 1:06 PM
Adam,

Welcome. If you are looking for basic information, I might suggest The Complete Woodworker by Bernard Jones. Covers a huge amount of info on hand tools and how to use them. Also, you might like Modern Practical Joinery by George Ellis. Both excellent books to learn from. Of course, we here on the Creek are happy to help as well.

Zach

Chris Griggs
11-29-2011, 1:11 PM
Hi Adam! Welcome to the Creek - this is a great group of folks to dork out with on woodworking discussions. Completing some basic projects is the best way to learn woodworking IMHO, your off to a good start with that book and taking classes