PDA

View Full Version : Introduction with some pictures

Moses Weisberg
11-28-2011, 4:56 PM
I have been keeping up with the turning forum for a while, but I figure its time to introduce myself. For some of the year I live in Denver, and for the rest of the year I am a college student at The George Washington University in DC. The upside to this is that I get to study politics in the nation's capitol, but unfortunately this means I am regularly about 1,600 miles away from my shop and lathe. Its especially nice to see other people's work when I'm far from home.

When I'm in Colorado, I primarily turn bowls, with some exceptions. Since it didn't actually happen if there aren't pictures, I'm attaching a few of the nicer pieces I've made.
The box is made of Redheart and finished with tung oil and beall buffing
The bowl is Chinese Elm finished with mineral oil (I was still working out my finishing system)
The natural edged bowl is pine killed by bark beetles in Colorado that leave behind these blue markings. I moved on to tung oil and buffing by this point.
And finally, this bowl is Russian Olive oriented so that the sap wood had a streak exposed on either side. This is also finished with tung oil, but only buffed by hand.

I'm still learning, and turn more by feel that drawn design so far. I have half a garage of wood, and a large rubbermaid tub of prepped bowl blanks for winter break, so I'll see if I can post more.

Thanks for all the knowledge I've picked up around here.

Best,
Moses

Jon McElwain
11-28-2011, 5:08 PM
Hey Moses,

Welcome to Sawmill Creek! I love the Redheart Box and the Russian Olive bowl - great grain in that one. I've got a big Russian Olive burl that is waiting to be turned. One of these days. I live in Fort Collins in the winter (Alaska in the summer) - what part of Denver are you in?

Marty Eargle
11-28-2011, 5:09 PM
Welcome and good looking turnings!! Look forward to seeing future turnings.

Jack Mincey
11-28-2011, 5:10 PM