PDA

View Full Version : Etching Picture on Mirror?

Ed Valasek
11-27-2011, 11:14 AM
Anyone have any suggestions for lasering etching a picture onto a Mirror? Any guides around for learning? I am looking for advice on DPI recommendations for the photo, Speed, Power etc. I tried one and it came out so so.... The detail was not as good as I would have expected. Maybe I am expecting too much but I have seen some really cool things done on mirrors with a laser. I am new to all this and learning...... I have Photograv as well but it doesn't really have an option for mirrors but I was thinking maybe the glass setting would be what I would want to use.

My machine is a 30 Watt Accuris ILS-3NM Powersharp 12.

Thanks!
Ed

Duane Parcells
11-27-2011, 12:02 PM
Hi Ed

I've done my fair share. I went back and found an old post that may help.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?104278-Mirror&p=1079365&highlight=#post1079365

D (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?104278-Mirror&p=1079365&highlight=#post1079365)uane

Ed Valasek
11-27-2011, 12:28 PM
Hey Duane!

Nice to meet you..... Thanks for the link to that thread. I am reading through it and going to run some tests on some scrap mirror I have laying around. Trying to find a good picture to use. I guess I need to just run some tests and see the best results I get. That thread is helpful..... Thanks again!

Anyone else have any suggestions?

Thanks,
Ed

Niklas Bjornestal
11-29-2011, 3:51 PM
Speed and power depends on the mirror, i have had mirrors that i can run at 100sp/100p without problem (25W mercury II) while on others i have to reduce speed to maybe 20. I use 200-250 dpi for photos and 500 dpi for text.

Jeff Belany
11-30-2011, 10:57 AM