PDA

View Full Version : Help me choose a lathe

Jaromir Svoboda
11-26-2011, 10:42 AM
I think it is time to buy a lathe.Never used one before.I dont want to buy something I will end up selling in few months.
I was looking at Grizzly G0462 lathe,its 2 hp,16 x 43",10 speeds,its $ 500.
Yesterday saw heavy duty G1495 on Craigslist ,its 3/4 hp,14 x 40",7 speeds,he is asking $ 775 with G2891 duplicator and mobil base.I dont need duplicator so I can get it for about $ 500.
Question is why heavy duty lathe only have 3/4 hp?
Should I look maybe for lahte with variable speed.I dont want to spend more than $ 1,000.
Thank you.

Derek Gilmer
11-26-2011, 11:09 AM
What do you want to turn? I'm just a noob but had a similiar budget at first. Then some very wise folks pointed out a lathe is just part of the cost. I ended up going with a delta 46-460. I can get a bed extender later to turn longer stuff. It has variable speed, good power and a great reputation. Amazon has it for around 530 after rebate. The other 470 can pay for a grinder, tools, chucks, wood, sandpaper, turning videos, more tools, more wood, a good face mask, a good dust mask, and dinner for your wife after you spend all night standing at a lathe :)

P.s. The reason I passed on the grizzly was 500 rpm is fairly fast to spin a large bowl blank and it is a reeves drive I think. So it will have some maintenance issues a true variable speed won't. And the delta is reversible for sanding which is nice.

Myk Rian
11-26-2011, 11:18 AM
Look for a used one.
My Delta 11" lathe was free. Tooling cost $400-$500.

Fred Belknap
11-26-2011, 11:35 AM