PDA

View Full Version : Clamps for a smalll workshop

Timothy Wolf
11-24-2011, 1:55 PM
Hello everyone, Happy Thanksgiving. The reason I am posting is because I have put together a fairly decent workshop in the past year, I am a hobby woodworker with aspirations of maybe making some money one day but not going into full time business. I have almost no clamps and I have decided to start buying clamps so that I am able to make some furniture without having to borrow clamps from friends and so I don't have to drop everything and run to the BORG to get more clamps. I am getting into building furniture for my house mainly Mission style with everything from nightstands and dressers to a hope chest. There will be glue ups and part assembly. I have used all of the main types of clamps so I am familiar with them but I'm not sure what the best way to build up a clamp collection is. Everyone including myself love the Parallel clamps, but they are very expensive. My thoughts are that almost every woodshop I have been in havs at least a few pipe clamps and they are very economical but will they work well for more than just glue ups? I have been offered 48" Jet speed bar clamps for $17.99ea they ususally run $28 ea. I've also been offered the Jet 36" Slip clutch for $19.99 normally $34.00 ea. or some Bessey tradesman also on discount. I worry about the 18"+ F-clamps having too much flex but haven't ruled them out completely. My clamp budget over the next few months is about $600

My thinking right now is to:

buy about 20 - 48" Shop Fox 3/4" bar clamps approx. $400 (with bars)
buy the 30 piece Shop Fox F- Clamps approx. $220

or

5 of the Irwin Parallel clamp sets which would give me 10 48" and 10 24" parallel clamps cost would be approx $600

or 5 of the Jet Parallel clamp sets for a little more $ but same length and amount of clamps