PDA

View Full Version : Help with handrail in Columbus Ohio (shaping, buying, and finishing)

Andrew Pitonyak
11-20-2011, 8:21 PM
Out of no where, my Father came down with shingles (the disease) in his ear and it caused hearing loss and loss of balance. He now requires two handrails to make it up and down stairs. I have only one handrail at my house, so I will install a second handrail.

A 9' 6" handrail would be about perfect, but if I found a 10' totally finished handrail, it would work. To match the existing hand rail, I would choose it to be a style 6010 (see http://www.stairpartsusa.com/product_p/6010%20handrail-ro.htm) in red oak.

The ends on my existing hand rail are profiled similarly to the sides. Specifically, the end is rounded rather than cut flat, and the bead near the base runs around the ends as well. I own two routers, but it looks like it would be difficult to shape this well. I am not an expert in such things. I assume that this is usually done on a shaper. I own a router, but not a shaper.

Any ideas on a place where I can either purchase the hand rail shaped on the ends, anyone in the area that can do this for me, or some way I can do this myself? If the best bet for this is for me to simply use a file, I may do that, or, I may just leave the ends flat.

I am not really sure where to buy this. I provided a link above, and I can order from there. If there was someone in my area that can simply shape one for me, I could do that as well.

Any thoughts on how I should finish a handrail? I don't have a good handle on what is usually used on hand rails. They will see a lot of "touching" and similar. If I do the finishing myself, I must use a finish that is appropriate for finishing in my basement.

I am a bit torn on just hiring someone to do it so that it will be finished, doing it myself (because it would be fun, I could say I did it, etc), or some combination in between.

I would really benefit from some advice.

Dave Zellers
11-20-2011, 8:39 PM