PDA

View Full Version : Help Needed from the Cabinet Pros

Andy Sowers
11-17-2011, 2:11 AM
I'm building a cabinet base for a DIY CNC router. The size of the cabinet is roughly 5' x 5' x 3' and will be made from 3/4" ply (probably BB). Note: A welded steel base isn't in the budget right now, plus I need additional storage space that the cabinet base will provide.

I'm worried about the unit racking... then the thought occurred to me that this unit is basically similar to a kitchen island. So I'm putting this out there for the cabinet pros for your expert opinions. Here's two sketchup models of my preliminary design... the first is the overall unit, the second one I removed the top, doors, and drawers to highlight the internal structure. Are the "pink" cabinet partitions sufficient to prevent the unit from racking? If not, how can I improve the rigidity? Face-frames?

Thanks in advance...
Andy

Richard Wagner
11-17-2011, 7:19 AM
I am not a cabinet pro by any means but I do see one thing that I believe you need to change. The two end panels, I believe should rest on the base not attach to the end of the base. I would think a rabbet would be the appropriate joint.

Possibly the same goes for the horizontal members on top. I would think these members should each be one piece reaching the entire width.

If the center divider was one piece (maybe it is - can't tell) that would prevent racking.

I don't know if face frames add much to structural integrity or not but surely there will be face frames - right.

johnny means
11-17-2011, 8:59 AM
Your basic plan is plenty stout. It wont rack, but I would revisit the base design. I would do a plynth that supports the entire thing.

Moses Yoder
11-17-2011, 9:07 AM