PDA

View Full Version : WOP Application

wes murphy
11-08-2011, 10:22 PM
Whats the best way to apply WOP, on the lathe or off? I've had some luck with the on lathe application with my bottle stopperss and pepper mills, but I'm wondering if thats the bst way to do it.

Ralph Lindberg
11-08-2011, 10:51 PM
I am no expert, and I have heard that on-lathe works really well.

That being said, the 11 bowls I did today were all done off lathe.

I have them sitting on melamine covered shelving. I wear nitrate gloves for handling and application.

Bernie Weishapl
11-08-2011, 11:18 PM
I don't finish anything on the lathe. Much easier for me to finish them off and more control IMHO.

Kyle Iwamoto
11-09-2011, 2:22 AM
I'm with the others on this. I don't use any thing liquid other than CA on the lathe. My lathe gets enough junk on it just from teh CA. I don't want anything else splashing around on it. The only "finish" I apply on lathe is the PPP friction polish. I add tung oil off lathe.

Donny Lawson
11-09-2011, 6:43 AM
Its better to finish with WOP "OFF" the lathe.Have something to hang the project from or work with one end at a time. WOP takes a little while to dry and it takes up lathe time if its tied up with a project with WOP on it.

John Keeton
11-09-2011, 7:24 AM
Wes, you will get varied responses on this - and already have. We all use somewhat different methods, but for me, the finish on many of my turnings begins with the application of BLO and shellac, which I do on the lathe. I usually let that cure for 2-3 days or more depending on the weather conditions and the piece itself. Then, I begin the application of WOP off the lathe. I doubt one could get complete coverage and a good finish on the lathe for a variety of reasons.

Bill Bulloch
11-09-2011, 7:42 AM