PDA

View Full Version : Type of wood to use to paint on and Faux finishes

Don Morris
11-08-2011, 12:37 PM
I was going to make a Swedish style grandfather clock, called the Mora clock, from a kit sold by "Klockit". When you're married to a Swede, that's what you do. In Sweden, Mora clocks are painted with designs, (some have faux finishes). Being a woodworker I was going to copy the Klockit unit which wasn't painted, but shown made out of cherry. The cherry I saved for this is over 40 yrs old and given to me by a friend who is no longer able to do wwing. However, LOML has her heart set on the traditional painted look. I must admit they are charming to look at. A few I've seen do have some natural wood showing, and that's what I think I'll end up doing. I'm a little worried about using all cherry, and wonder if cherry would be the best wood for the painted or faux application areas. Finishing isn't my strong suit to say the least. Would I be better off to use a different wood in the areas where I intend to paint? My wife and daughter-in-law have strong art backgrounds, so I'm not worried about someone being able to do the art work. Thanks for any ideas about wood selection for this project.

John TenEyck
11-08-2011, 1:38 PM
To me it would be a shame to waste cherry on something that will be painted, although I know it's sometimes done. I'd use maple if some areas are to be left natural, and poplar if all of it will be painted. If the maple is too light in color, you could always dye the whole piece to whatever color you want, prior to painting.

Jim Rimmer
11-08-2011, 1:39 PM
If I were making something that was to be painted I would use Poplar.

Howard Acheson
11-08-2011, 4:39 PM
I would use cherry only on areas that will show. Poplar is a good wood for painted surfaces but it's not a good choice for a clear finish.