PDA

View Full Version : If you had $150 to spend on sharpening stones - how would you spend it?

Nick Sorenson
11-05-2011, 5:59 PM
I'm not experienced with sharpening stones other than the cheap HF stone I bought to sharpen knives a while back. It about turned me off to sharpening forever! Until I recently got into hand tools. I have been using scary sharp. And it works. But I'd like to get some stones to make life a little easier. What should I buy (water or oil)? I have around $150 to put into stones and I want to make the best move. Seems like Halls Arkansas stones are well respected as are Norton for water stones. But I don't want to buy a name, I want to pay for results. Any tips would be very appreciated!

Brian Kent
11-05-2011, 6:06 PM
Do you have a grinder for the basic angle?

Maurice Ungaro
11-05-2011, 6:21 PM
Good quality india and Arkansas stones.

Jim Belair
11-05-2011, 6:22 PM
Well assuming your answer to Brian's question (or a belt sander works too) is yes, I recommend two stones- Norton 1000 and combo 4000/8000. Works for me.

Jeff L Miller
11-05-2011, 6:27 PM
Tough one, its kind of like the old Ford or Chevy thing; there are advocates for both.

Around Portland, I frequently see sharpening stones on CL advertised for cheap, thats one option.

If I were to buy new, I would purchase a set of Norton water stones, 1000 up to 8000 and you should be fine. I think the Norton's come in two grits per stone, one on each side. I would also get a flatening stone.

Common literature on sharpening says to pick a system, one you will use, and stick with it. Sharp is sharp and you just need to learn how to get there.