PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: Anyone use the "Versa Chisel" from PSI?

Rob Price
11-03-2011, 9:35 PM
I see lots of comparisons between these and the Sorby Spindlemaster. I was looking for a 1/2" skew chisel at Amazon and came across a set of two benjamin's best versa chisels. I'm just getting started, the started set of tools came with a 1" skew chisel, I was looking to add a smaller one as well. Thanks.

David E Keller
11-03-2011, 10:06 PM
I've not used the tool you asked about, but I'd recommend Alan Lacer's skew chisels if you want a great skew... They're thicker than the standard skew which makes them more stable and user friendly. I'm sure here are other brands as well, the Lacer skew I own is head and shoulders better than the couple of anorexic skews I acquired prior.

Nick Fournier
11-03-2011, 10:06 PM
I have the Versa Chisel - both the larger and smaller ones. At least for me, I haven't gotten much use out of them as I just can't seem to see the benefit they provided.

John Keeton
11-03-2011, 10:15 PM
I have the larger one, and find it useful at times, but I try to avoid any skew type work. It seems for forgiving than a skew, and because it has a rounded edge, it makes a nice shear scraper for lighter work. Quite honestly, that is the principal use I make of it.

Jake Helmboldt
11-03-2011, 10:32 PM
Never used one so I can't say.

As for skews, I like to have a variety. My favorite is a 3/4 with a radius grind on it. I also got a big 1 1/4 Crown which I also put a radius on, much like the Lacer, but at less than 1/2 the cost. That is nice for bigger spindle projects.

Tim Leiter
11-03-2011, 11:11 PM