PDA

View Full Version : High School Woodworker Looking for First Lathe

Noah Zavolas
11-03-2011, 4:10 PM
Hi all, I'm a sophmore in high school, and have been working with wood in some capacity since I was very little. I've been to many woodworking summer camps, and have helped my grandfather on some of his wooden boats, but I am still constantly learning new techniques, and making bunches of mistakes. I'm pretty good with my hands, and really enjoy the creative outlet woodworking provides. Last year, as a freshman, I had the opportunity to learn the lathe from my shop teacher. What originally interested me about the lathe was that it was the machine used to turn baseball bats. I immediatley saw a way to connect my passion, baseball, with my favorite hobby, woodworking. I turned a baseball bat as my first ever turning project, and it turned out well. It's a little shorter than it was supposed to be, and it has it's imperfections, but the finished product is balanced similarly to my other, factory-made wood bats, and it is by far the project that I am most proud of. Since then, I have scaled down and turned a few pens on our shop's mini lathe. These too came out very well, and my shop teacher has asked me to turn a few more for the principals. I am in no way an advanced turner; I am constantly learning new things and new tricks with each project, but more importantly, I have come to realize that something about wood turning appeals to me in a very personal sense, almost as if it centers me in some way (no pun intended).