PDA

View Full Version : New guy...

Corey Kelley
11-03-2011, 9:26 AM
I don't even know if I'm in the right place. I'm new to Sawmill so I'm crossing my fingers. does anyone know a good way to stain baltic birch to give it an antique (semi-sailorish) look?

John Gregory
11-03-2011, 10:09 AM
I got an email the other day from MinWax. The have new stains, Weathered Oak and Classic Gray. You might look at that. I have not used it, Just a thought

Von Bickley
11-03-2011, 12:11 PM
Corey,

I love working with Baltic Birch but I have not had good luck with it and stain. Maybe one of the other guys will help us out with this one.

PS: Welcome to "The Creek".....

Jim Rimmer
11-03-2011, 1:14 PM
There are three or four finishing gurus on the Creek that will probably chime in with some good advice. I am too old to remember their names, though.

Oh, and welcome to the Creek.

Edit: Just saw a couple of the names: Howard Acheson and Scott Holmes. And there are others.

Ken Shoemaker
11-04-2011, 7:43 AM
Birch gets blotchy at the drop of a hat. Maybe gel stains are the ticket. But I'd go with the gurus, Scott and Howard, on this one.

Jerome Hanby
11-04-2011, 8:12 AM
Haven't worked with Baltic birch, but we had a lot of blotching on a rock maple piece my wife was refinishing. She stripped it back down and used Min-Wax wood conditioner as the first coat and it came out perfect. I'm sure many other products work as well, but the Min-Wax worked so well that we never had a reason to try others... Might work well in your application.

Scott Holmes
11-04-2011, 9:45 PM
Birch is indeed blotch prone.

Best approach is using dye, Gel stain would be next. As for the pre-stain conditioners, they partially seal the wood making the staining process more even in color but substantially lighter.

Sorry, your color "antique (semi-sailorish)" means nothing to me, colorwise.

What color(s) do you want?
What are you building?

Harvey Pascoe
11-10-2011, 6:45 PM