PDA

View Full Version : Hand saw questions

Gary Daniel
10-31-2011, 10:29 AM
A friend of mine brought me this saw to see if I could repair/sharpen it. (I'm still a novice at sharpening but I've repaired/sharpened over 40 saws....practice makes perfect.) It was pretty "grimy" and the handle was broken. I used some 0000 steel wool and mineral spirits to clean it up a little. I then noticed that the medallion said "Warranted Superior" and "Pat Dec 21 1869". I was curious when the saw was made so I did some searches on the internet to see what I could find out. I did find some info but nothing that would help date the saw. I understand from the Disstonian Institute:

"When you find an American WS saw, there may be a slightly less than 50% chance that it was made by Disston. Disston had a very large portion of the market, but it was not a monopoly. Atkins, Bishop, Jennings, Woodrough & McParlin, and Simonds (1900-1926) were a few of the large saw manufacturers that made saws with some form of a WS medallion with an eagle. Atkins' secondary line was actually labeled "Phoenix Warranted."

My question is, can any of you tell from the medallion when this saw was made and who made it?

Thanks

Chris Vandiver
10-31-2011, 10:54 AM
I would venture to say that with the flush medallion and the fact that the saw has spilt nuts, that it was made prior to 1880.

Gary Daniel
10-31-2011, 11:03 AM
Thanks Chris

Maurice Ungaro
10-31-2011, 11:20 AM
looks like the handle was sawn off at the bottom too.

Joshua Clark
11-01-2011, 11:41 PM