PDA

View Full Version : Help on tips for making trim molding

David Figueroa
03-02-2005, 8:09 PM
Since I have never used a router before I was wondering If you might be able to give me some pointers.

I have to make my own birch cabinet moldings (since I cannot find what I need at the molding store). What I need is 3/4" thick trim with ogee edge.

-----
3/4" | <- routed edge
-----

What I think I need to do route the ogee edge along the length of the board then rip that piece, and do it over again, until I have enough trim.

My question(s): This is probably best done on a table with fence? Is it possible to do it free hand? How to do this? I guess you would need to have some guide for the ball bearing to follow?

Finally which tool I need to get the job done (with safety and cost as consideration).

Thanks much.

Richard Wolf
03-02-2005, 8:29 PM
If I understand you correctly? If the router bit has a ball bearing on it, no, you do not need a fence. The board should be clamped down and the router with bit installed, can be ran along the edge. Once the edge is routed you will cut it to size on a table saw. (With a fence).

David Figueroa
03-02-2005, 8:37 PM
Thanks Richard,

Yes, for ripping use fence on the table saw. I was thinking in an ogee profile, there is no straight egde, no flat part; so what edge would the bearing use to guide the router?

Maybe I am misundertanding the height parameter. If the router bit is 3/4" carbide height, this does NOT include the bearing, correct? So does this mean that I should instead get a 5/8" carbide height so there is 1/8" at the bottom where the bearing can ride?

Jim Becker
03-02-2005, 9:14 PM
IMHO, it's easier to do this, and more consistant if you use a router table, fence and featherboards for this particular task. I would only do it with a hand-held router if it was just for a single piece or two.

Ken Fitzgerald
03-03-2005, 8:34 AM