PDA

View Full Version : Epilog Zing 24 suitable for alu panels?

Halgeir Wold
10-28-2011, 5:23 PM
I'm concidering exchanging our old engraver with a laser engraver, possibly a Zing 24 40W, as this is probably the max price I can defend budgetwise, given the importer markup here in Norway.

My prime target is nature anodized alu plates , - front and rear panels for electronic instruments, as well as some signage for internal company use. I have no experience with laser engravers as such, so looking for some advice towards usability for our purposes.

A few additional questions, if someone will care to answer:
What kind of ink/colour fill is necesseary for alu panels, - and maybe brass?
Read some older threads about laser tube reliability and life time - what todays situation?
Any other brands in the same price level, sporting roughly the same performance or better?

TIA in advance... :)

Bruce Volden
10-28-2011, 5:39 PM
Halgeir,

You mentioned ANODIZED aluminum---it is usually very easy to "engrave"--after all you are just bleaching off the color and 40W laser will do just fine. As far as "marking", (you state color fill), other aluminum it can be tricky. Aluminum is an excellent heat sink and you will have varying results due to this fact. I, personally, don't like it. Brass---forget it!! Epilog as a rule makes a fine machine. You will just have to experiment and get to know the machine. If I had lots of money to spend, I'd have to get a Kern system.

håper dette hjelper

Bruce

Halgeir Wold
10-28-2011, 5:46 PM
EDIT - finger trouble :eek:

Halgeir Wold
10-28-2011, 6:06 PM
Takk for info så langt...:)

Most of the system boxes we use are clear of natural colour anodized alu. I've had some panels made out of premises, that were ink or paint filled, so I sort of assumed that it was necesseary as with regular rotary engraving...?
BTW - why not regular engravers brass for laser engraving?