PDA

View Full Version : New to turning - Grinding jig Recs?

alex grams
10-27-2011, 10:07 AM
I am new to the vortex, and looking at setups for sharpening my turning tools. I currently have the woodcraft slow (1725RPM) speed grinder.

What is the best rec for a new turner for sharpening? I have seen the self-made jigs that are height/angle adjustbale you mount to the bench in front of the grinder, which looks like a simple and cost effective solution.

Then there are the wolverine/one-way jigs and so on.

Your preference/rec, or any other good methods recommended?

Thanks in advance.

Prashun Patel
10-27-2011, 10:26 AM
Alex-
I say this having struggled with spending $$ on jigs and gouges the past year; last year I was where you are now:

If I could do it all again, from day 1, I'd get the following in this order:

1) Wolverine + Varigrind.
2) A CBN wheel.
3) high quality gouges/scrapers

The Varigrind is just so easy to use I can't imagine anything being significantly better for the price.

I highly recommend the CBN. While it is expensive, it is well balanced, cool running, and durable. It really improved the quality of my tool edge, and the finish quality of my cuts (less sanding). It also does not wear away as does a matrix type wheel. This means repeatable results and no reconfiguring of yr v-arm.

I got by for a year on budget gouges. Once I started using a good one, though (there are many) it was a revelation.

Scott Hackler
10-27-2011, 10:27 AM
Alex,

If you can swing the expense, the Wolverine Jig is a nice tool. I use it and once you set it up, it makes repeatable grinds pretty easy. Just be aware that you would need the basic system and the bowl gouge jig for it. Sometimes Woodcraft puts these on sale, if you can wait.

alex grams
10-27-2011, 10:48 AM
hmm, some good ideas for christmas gifts from the wife.