PDA

View Full Version : Fein Multimaster and "wood slicing"

Jim Barstow
10-24-2011, 10:19 PM
I saw a pair of Seth Rolland's bookends a couple years ago in a museum in NYC. (See http://www.sethrolland.com/)
After the Fine Working article on his work (See http://www.finewoodworking.com/item/27869/seth-rolland-slicing-maestro),
I started playing around with seeing if I could do the same thing.

I built a jig for my bandsaw that allows repeated cuts accurately spaced apart. I've had some success with construction but I'm
stuck on sanding. The article says he uses a Fein Multimaster for sanding. I'm willing to buy this pricey tool but only if I believe
it will be of more general use. (I don't have any remodeling jobs to justify it.) How useful is this tool in a wood shop?

Mike Henderson
10-24-2011, 10:33 PM
The multimaster patents expired and there's a number of less expensive versions of the tool, all the way down to a Harbor Freight version, which was on sale for $17 recently. Take a look at some of the other makers before you buy the Fein. If you're going to use it all the time, the Fein is a good tool, but if you're only going to use it occasionally, any of the clones will work fine for you. I have the HF because I don't use it a lot and it works fine for my use.

I don't remember everyone who makes one, but off hand I can think of Bosch, Rockwell, Dremel, and Harbor Freight. I think there's some more companies and hope others will post their names.

Mike

Chris Rosenberger
10-25-2011, 8:06 AM
I have the Multimaster. I love it for sawing & scraping on remodel jobs. I have found it very lacking as a sander.
If you are only wanting a sander, then check out the Festool DX93 or RO90. Both have extended sanding pad options that would work well for your project.
They also have very good dust collection.

Jerome Hanby
10-25-2011, 8:39 AM