PDA

View Full Version : Lathe Cabinet/Stand Input?

alex grams
10-24-2011, 12:44 PM
I wanted to solicit input on a lathe stand/cabinet. I am new to turning, and have been reading about desired spindle height, etc.

I am 6'4", and the spindle height is 14.5" from the base of the lathe, with the cabinet top at 34", giving the spindle about 2" above elbow height.

I have two models of cabinets I am considering, one all drawers, the other with a few doors w/ shelves and drawers.

What type of storage of equipment is preferable for turning tools/jigs/etc?

I am still working on the mobile base idea. I need to be able to move the cabinet, but i don't want to have locking casters as the supports when I need the cabinet to be stable. I want the cabinet to sit on the floor and be stable to minimize vibration from the lathe.

I was thinking along the lines of a skid on the bottom that holds the wheels to the side, and use the lifters to push the base to the floor and engage the casters (similar to how the sawstop mobile base works).

My ideas:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=211060&d=1319474606

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=211059&d=1319474606

Thoughts/Suggestions?

Noah Barfield
10-24-2011, 12:47 PM
Those are both really nice looking stands. Personally I would go for the first one. The shelves on the right and left would be great for storing bowl blanks.

Bob Wolfe
10-24-2011, 4:33 PM