PDA

View Full Version : Barnwood Table Top

Ed Wilks
10-23-2011, 8:21 AM
I am a novice woodworker and I am building a table top out of old barnwood. I will plane the boards down to 1.5" thickness and joint the edges. There will be 6 boards to create, roughly, a 36" x 60" top.

So, my question is.... I was planning on just edge glueing the boards together. Do I need to use biscuits or dowels?

Any other advice?

Thanks very much.

Steve Friedman
10-23-2011, 8:34 AM
My understanding is that the dowels or biscuits in that glue up are not needed for strength, but may be useful to keep the boards aligned. If you have another way to keep the boards aligned and flat, you don't need the dowels.

Steve

Troy Turner
10-23-2011, 11:09 AM
Ed -

I just finished up a desk that was roughly 5' x 2'. A top that thick provides a lot of gluing surface. Trick is paitience. Once the edges are jointed, clamp two board up and flatten them out best you can. Once the glue dries, glue up another, and so on. This will cut down on final sanding time to make it nice and smooth.

Like Steve mentioned, dowels and biscuits are primarily for aligning the parts but do provide somewhat of a strength factor. I recommend a couple of pieces across the width to add to the strength.

How do you plan on attaching the top

Bill White
10-23-2011, 11:54 AM
Workin' on thesame thing this weekend. Old walnut. I use biscuits for alignment, and the "Z" shaped table top fasteners. Look 'em up. They allow some movement after the top is in place.
Bill

Ed Wilks
10-24-2011, 8:35 AM
I haven't completely designed the base yet. I'm trying to get the top done before the cold weather sets in. I'm planning on a trestle-type base made of some 3.5 x 6 mahogony left over from a trim job my brother did. I figured I might use the z-fasteners.

Thanks for the advice, guys! Patience is the key!

Bill White
10-24-2011, 10:04 AM