PDA

View Full Version : First Successful Plane Hunt

Bernadette Semilla
10-21-2011, 10:32 PM
Hi there guys, I'm new to woodworking and thanks to budget, space, noise, dust limitations, and a healthy appreciation for history, I'm starting with good old hand tools. Anyways, I'm sure that's not what you're here for!

http://i.imgur.com/vgbTxl.jpg (http://imgur.com/vgbTx)

Got a Sargent VBM of some sort (not yet familiar with any type studies for Sargent), Stanley No4C, and Stanley No5-1/2C. I think the 4C is a type 15 or 16, I suspect this will be clarified once I can clean and inspect the lateral adjuster. Mostly though, I'm posting for help for Sargent resources and for ID on the 5-1/2C. It has BAILEY between the knob and rib, missing any STANLEY on the lever cap, and 3 patent dates on the bed- as best as I could make them out: MAR 25-02, AUG 19-02, APR 19-10. Where (or when, rather) does that place it?

Michael H Greene
10-21-2011, 10:46 PM
The bailey with the 3 patent dates is most likely a type 11 (1910-1918). These are thought by Chris Scwarz to be some of the better Baileys made. Keep us updated on the restoration. Here is a Bailey type study: http://www.tooltrip.com/tooltrip9/stanley/stan-bpl/bailey-types.htm > I don't know much about the Sargents so I cant help you there.

Jonathan McCullough
10-21-2011, 11:04 PM
Welcome to SMC Bernadette and congratulations on your successful safari. There isn't as much info available online about Sargent planes as there is about Stanleys, but here are a couple of resources:

The Sargent Planes site (http://www.sargent-planes.com/).
Interesting Sargent catalog (http://www.roseantiquetools.com/id141.html).

Mark Dorman
10-21-2011, 11:26 PM
Welcome to the Creek Bernadette. This is a another link with a little Sargent info. http://www.horizontalheavens.com/418vs418VBM%20Comparison.htm
I understand the space, budget and noise limitations thats what started me down the slippery slope.

Mark

Steve Branam
10-22-2011, 10:57 AM