PDA

View Full Version : New work, in progress

Michelle Rich
10-19-2011, 7:13 AM
I have never sent progress pictures before, so decided with this new process, that I would send in so ya'll could see before it is all finished and chomped thru!(this is a "cross-pollination" of my neg & pos space design, heading in a new direction) First it is a 3 centered turning. Second, I made my own "homemade" inlay. (walnut & holly) I tired of the commercial, linear, triangles, squares, etc, and wanted a more organic look. Hopefully you can see there is a second turned trough for another circle of inlay that will overlap the first circle of inlay. Since this is my first attempt the inlay is a tad simplistic, but my brain is small & simple is about all I can do along with everything else. :-) Hope this is enjoyable to peruse, and gives you ideas for your own shop. (I believe at this time, I will cut away alot of the ambrosia & leave the circles with a border and make it a wall hanging..at least that is the plan!!)

I posted a picture of the jig I made to get the radius on the inlay pieces, in a post below

Russell Eaton
10-19-2011, 7:18 AM
Michelle I think it is off to a very nice start. I hope that you will post more pictures as you progress.

John Keeton
10-19-2011, 7:58 AM
Quite interesting!! The inlay has a certain 3-D quality to it. I wonder if one could enhance that look by the careful application of a "shadow" on the outer half of the ring - just thinkin' out loud.

I think what you do with the rest of it can really impact the overall character of the piece, and I have no doubt your imaginative mind will come up with something magical!

Michelle Rich
10-19-2011, 8:28 AM
thanks John..what makes this so gosh darn hard is that every piece has to have a radius that copies the radius of the inlay circle. They look straight, but they aren't.