View Full Version : Sawdust fellowship ... and a little box elder burl gloat

Tim Rinehart
10-15-2011, 9:33 PM
What to better bring a group of turners together than some sawdust fellowship! No pic of fellow creeker Tony Pridmore...but he was there too with his son. I was kinda surprised seeing him after the last few weekends of cutting up his parents massive silver maple.
Fantastic weather + BBQ + Sawdust flying was on course today at SawmillNC in Iron Station, NC, northwest of Charlotte.
Kyle Edwards hosted this event before, and this is my first time for the BBQ event...not my first time to see Kyle about some wood.

Kyle has some fantastic flitch lumber, blanks and...burls... and really has a great variety of all sorts of wood and types...curly, fiddleback, instrument grade...he has it too. Anyone in the region who needs wood for a special project owes themselves to call this guy and see what he can do. Quality is tops and quite reasonable.

I was up here a few weeks back, and saw a very big box elder tree there that was enveloped with burls, so I was curious if he had got to putting the chain to this big log yet. Kyle cut an 8 foot section and slabbed it out and can be seen in this pic.
I was very interested in the base of this tree, where the combination of root and burl together spells wood magic. I took the LOML with me, and she was sitting out in our truck till she saw me mulling around this piece.:eek: She came over...and approved...she's the true beauty in this pic and to right of the saw cut is the part of the box elder root burl I selected. ;)
A little fight getting this piece cut...and it wasn't to be split at last section, no straight grain I guess.

Safely in my truck. 210239

I got this massive piece onto a pair of sawhorses without killing myself, powerwashed it, and look at the colors and eyes on this!
210237 210236
I was very surprised by how solid this root ball was, with very few big voids or mud holes.