PDA

View Full Version : Finish for Rosewood

Brent Smith
02-28-2005, 4:42 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm new to "The Creek" (hope no one minds a newbie using the name)and after checking it out for a couple of weeks,I'm amazed by the amount of knowledge here. I have to admit,my woodworking is mostly power,but over the last couple of years I've been slowly using and enjoying hand tools more and more. Just so everyone knows,although I've been woodworking for years, I'm completely new to computers, so please don't be offended if my replys and questions seem curt or uncaring. I'm one of those people that types with one finger and has to look for every letter.
Enough of that,on to the question at hand. I'm making a small table out of indian rosewood(never worked with it before) and am hoping for some assistance as far as the finish goes. It does not have to be very durable as the table will be used only to display an art object and will not be put to everyday use. I would like the finish to really make the grain pop and show off the colors in the wood. My idea so far is lacquer, but I'm definately open to any suggestions.

Thanks for any help you can give,
Brent

Mike Cutler
02-28-2005, 6:20 PM
Brent. Welcome to the "creek. The lacquer idea sounds good to me. I also like the wipe on varnishes, such as Tru-Oil, and General Finishes Arm-R-Seal. I read a favorable post about the Bullseye French Polish, but haven't used it myself.
Not much help I guess, but once again welcome,
P.S. Don't worry to much about the typing skills, I'm up to two fingers on each hand, but still only type about 10 words a minute, 5 if I have to correct mistakes :eek:

Brent Smith
02-28-2005, 6:41 PM
Hi Mike,