PDA

View Full Version : Price estimate for 36" lathe ?

Mike vonBuelow
10-14-2011, 12:08 PM
Assuming it works, can anyone speculate what this is worth?

The owner is asking $200 - and I'm new to turning, so I have no idea if this is a good starting price, or a scam...

What questions should I be asking?

He mentions it comes with a 'copier' - if that matters any

Noah Barfield
10-14-2011, 12:21 PM
I would steer you away this lathe. It's a tube lathe from the 70s or 80s made by Sears. Having owned one for a bit, I can tell you that you'll be fighting vibration from day one. There are a ton of them on craigslist in our area and they range in price depending on what the owner believes that they are "worth." There's also a reason why these older Sears lathes are so abundant on craigslist. Yes, you can turn stuff on them, but it won't take long until you're looking around for a more substantial machine. The copier and tools that are in the photo don't significantly add to the value. I'd advise looking for a used Delta or even a Jet mini if your budget is limited.

Noah

Jack Mincey
10-14-2011, 2:39 PM
I have given two of these old lathes away over the last 5 years. I teach at a local high school shop and people bring them in to me to use. I don't think they are worth $20.00 much less $200.00. The tools are worth more than the lathe. I would give as much as $40.00 for the set of tools, but would not want to load the lathe into my truck for free.
Jack

Roger Chandler
10-14-2011, 2:58 PM
Waaaaaaaay too much! Steer clear.........I have a neighbor who has one, and it is in good shape.........he bought it at an auction about 10 years ago for $60..............he bought a Jet 1236 last week at auction almost new for $220. Get you a good lathe ............maybe the Delta 46-460 for $599. and you will never regret it!

Mike vonBuelow
10-14-2011, 3:36 PM
Thanks all - looks like I have a unanimous consensus on this model.

Appreciate it!

Steve Vaughan
10-14-2011, 5:57 PM