PDA

View Full Version : jointing on a router table

fred henkin
10-01-2011, 8:56 AM
I am trying to joint some curly maple using a router table. I am using a 1/4" straight bit and have an older craftsman router. It seems to be cutting rough and at times is hard to push the wood thru, even though I am going slow. This is my first attempt at jointing like this. Am I using the right type of bit? Can my router be losing power? Any other ideas or is this just the way it is.

Gene Howe
10-01-2011, 9:21 AM
A 1/2" solid carbide down spiral will give you better results. Set the out feed fence and bit to take of no more than 1/16.
good dust collection will help, too.

Mats Bengtsson
10-01-2011, 12:02 PM
A 1/2" solid carbide down spiral will give you better results. Set the out feed fence and bit to take of no more than 1/16.
good dust collection will help, too.

I have such 1/2 inch shaft, on a Festool 1400. It performed lot worse than expected. There will be pressure on the bit. And the bit is not fastened on two sides. After buying a Hammer A31 (which works well), I have a thought on the settings:

Create a difference on the infeed and outfeed fences (infeed a little more behind the bit than outfeed is). See to that outfeed is a little bit behind the bit. That combination will be more like a jointer than only changing the infeed table to be behind the bit, and will give better results.

--- Mats ---

Gene Howe
10-01-2011, 1:43 PM
Mats is correct about the settings.
Sorry my post wasn't as clear as it could/should have been.
The out feed needs to be dead even with the cutting edge. The in feed set to take no more than a 1/16th cut.
I've had no problem with this set up in jointing 3/4 material. Any thicker might prove problematic.
A spiral bit is best. At least, a bit with a slight cant to the edge, like this one (http://www.mlcswoodworking.com/shopsite_sc/store/html/smarthtml/pages/bit_straight.html#shear_angle_anchor), would be better than a straight bit.

Bill White