PDA

View Full Version : Shopfox W1723 or Dewalt 735 planer

Eddie Johnston
09-29-2011, 8:29 PM
I need help, guys. I'm trying to decide whether to buy a used Shopfox W1723 15" planer or a new Dewalt 735. Price difference is negligible.
I'm a teacher and woodworking is a hobby, so I don't do any production stuff.

What I like about the Dewalt is the ease of knife changes and the reviews, but the Shopfox has an extra 3 inches. And noone in my house is going to gripe about an extra 3". What do you think? Pluses and minues of each??

Cary Falk
09-29-2011, 9:13 PM
W1723 hands down if you have the room and power. The stationary planers are soo much quieter. You can always put a spiral head in it in the future if you don't like changing blades. I went from a Delta 13" lunchbox planer to a 15 spiral Grizzly. I am soo much happier. I am a hobbiest also.

Charlton Wang
09-30-2011, 12:28 AM
I would take the W1723. I had the DW735 and even though the performance is good and the design as far as lunchbox planers is concerned is pretty awesome, it is VERY loud and the blower exhaust is so powerful that there have been times when my dust collection hose was blown right off and the planer spewed shavings all over the place.

Peter Quinn
09-30-2011, 6:07 AM
I owned the Dewalt and it's a fine planer but I switched to a 15" floor model and could not be happier. The floor model is larger ( significantly) and heavier. Heavy is good in use, bad when you have to transport or move around the shop, but am good mobile base halos if space is tight. I added a spiral head, No more knife changes. I'd buy the shop fox unless there was a compelling reason not to.

Danny Higgins
09-30-2011, 6:34 AM