PDA

View Full Version : Neophyte Pricing Question

dan dillon
09-26-2011, 8:32 PM
Well, I'm a newbie. . . 'Been lurking here for awhile now. My Epilog Mini 18 is going to ship Tuesday or Wednesday this week (Oct 27th or 28th). I already have Corel X5 and a computer set up to run everything. I know that I'll be able to master the engraver fairly fast. The biggest question in my mind is how much to charge for services rendered. I understand that I don't want to give my services away for peanuts thus eroding the market but likewise I don't want to price myself out of the market. How much is enough to charge? For instance, for a simple plastic name tag, what is an appropriate amount to charge? Should I base my fee on material plus a certain amount per character? Should I charge a flat fee? There are no other laser engravers that I am aware of in my immediate locale so I don't have to worry about competition however I don't want to gouge. What are some guidelines that others use to set pricing? Thanks in advance.:confused:

Martin Boekers
09-26-2011, 9:03 PM
Two things you said that stands out. "I know that I'll be able to master the engraver fairly fast" & "I don't have to worry about competition" be careful, very careful. Those words can be eaten rather quickly. :)
If you have been lurking for a while you notice that even the most seasoned pros haven't really mastered it. And there ALWAYS is competion! The real challange comes with the software. So become familiar with YouTube.

Search for pricing here in the forum it's one of those illusive goals that we all try to reach. It's difficult anymore to charge by character when some one and emails you the
text and you just import it. Charging by letter was done in the rotary days when you physically had to set the type and proportions. What I sell something for may be fine in my area