PDA

View Full Version : bowl gouge grind issues

Prashun Patel
09-26-2011, 7:59 PM
I am using a Wolverine Varigrind, and have the jig set to the 2nd notch from the bottom. However, the tip of my gouges are getting pointier and pointier, and there is a concavity on the top edges of the wings that I'm unable to eliminate. Any ideas what I can do to correct this?

Tom Winship
09-26-2011, 8:11 PM
Prashun, I'm a newbie at this myself, however, I would think that the more pointed tip could be eliminated by spending more time on the tip and less on the wings. (I would try grinding the tip back and forth until it becomes round again). When the tip becomes more rounded, that might improve the concavity of the wings to some extent.
As I say, I'm a newbie, but am learning on the same equipment and a Thompson 1/2" V bowl gouge.

John Keeton
09-26-2011, 8:16 PM
Tom is correct, it takes but a second on the tip as there is very little metal on the stone at any given moment. I would suggest you start your grind on the side and swing to the tip. Do that from either side, and then get the tip where you want it by blending the grind into the sides.

I also like my wings swept back considerably. On a 1/2" gouge, my wings are probably 3/4" or more. It also looks as if you have a pretty blunt grind (hard to tell from the pic angle) - are you setting the jig 2" back from the tip?

Charles Bjorgen
09-26-2011, 8:19 PM
Go on over to Doug Thompson's web site and look at his sharpening tips. They should work for your gouge.http://www.thompsonlathetools.com/sharpening.asp

There is a PDF file you can download and print for a handy reference. As others have already mentioned you can round off the nose of the gouge as you rotate the jig from side to side. I generally like the wings longer than the Thompson PDF shows. It takes patience. Have a good light on your grinding wheel and work slowly with a light touch so you don't grind away valuable High speed steel.