PDA

View Full Version : Red Alder?

Kris Langohr
09-24-2011, 10:25 PM
Our HOA spent the day cleaning out an overgrown area that had a lot of 3-4 year old decidious trees. We cut down a bunch of them and I salvaged the straighter parts of the trunks. I grabbed a tree ID book from the library and as near as I can tell the trees are very young Red Alders. Not sure if we have any professional arborists who might be able to make a positive ID. For geography info our property is about 20 miles north of Seattle.

Whatever the wood is I got a good size wheelbarrow full of it, most pieces are between 1-4 inches in diameter and 24-42 inches in length. Worst case I can use them to practice my spindle technique since I am new to this. As I saw someone here say "Free wood is good wood".

Thanks,
Kris

Kris Langohr
09-24-2011, 11:02 PM
As a note I do not have hairy gorilla like fingers :) The last photo is a piece of the trunk resting between my knees so I could take the picture.

Kris

David E Keller
09-24-2011, 11:04 PM
As a note I do not have hairy gorilla like fingers :) The last photo is a piece of the trunk resting between my knees so I could take the picture.

Kris

LOL... I actually thought you might have the grossest fingers I'd ever seen!

Sorry, can't help with the wood ID.

Curt Fuller
09-24-2011, 11:48 PM
Being from the Cascades, I though maybe you had Sasquatch holding it while you took the pics. I was hoping for a shot of his/her face.;)

Looks like alder to me too.

Jim Sebring
09-24-2011, 11:51 PM
Sure looks like the alder we often use for fire wood around here. Very nice stuff to practice on. Many flat workers use it as a substitute cherry - almost no figure, but about the same color.

Josh Bowman
09-25-2011, 7:07 AM
:DLOL!!!!! I'm not sure what your asking since I can't get past the hairy fingers picture.:p:p:p:p