PDA

View Full Version : My new 10" Bad Axe Dovetail Saw

Andrew Pitonyak
09-21-2011, 8:48 PM
Disclaimer: I am an amateur, it takes a lot of work to cut dovetails by hand, and they are not the prettiest dove tails. In my entire life, I have only used five back saws, and one was total junk.

My first dovetail saw was an inexpensive Crown with with a cylinder for a handle (similar to a Japanese pull saw). I had a difficult time cutting a straight line, which I attribute to the handle, the sharpening, and my inexperience. I keep it around so that when I get around to it, I can practice sharpening on a saw that otherwise means little to me.

To avoid fatigue, I purchased a Lie Nielsen dovetail saw, which I like very much. I like the handle fairly well, but it sometimes pinches the bottom of my palm.

After numerous cuts with my Lie Nielsen saw I can follow a line fairly well. I realized, however, that while learning to cut, I have not used the saw evenly so that one portion is sharper than the other and the saw is dragging as a I cut. Not wanting to be without a saw (and lacking the guts to sharpen my only usable dovetail saw), I did the only sensible thing; I purchased a 10" dovetail saw from Bad Axe Tools.

I opted for a mesquite handle (because I like the look) and for a black nickel plated finish.

http://www.badaxetoolworks.com/10-inch-dovetail-back-saw.html

I lack time, but desired to give the saw a quick test.

Mark Harrell has done a wonderful job on this saw. The fit and finish on this saw is almost perfect. I like attractive tools. I may use my tools hard sometimes, but I rarely abuse them and then I usually clean them up before putting them away for extended periods. My point is that I paid extra for a few extras that are mostly aesthetic, but five years from now it will likely still look very nice.

Mark Harrell asked me how I would use the saw and I told him dovetails in hardwood. I then let him decide how to file the saw.