PDA

View Full Version : Which Router Table & Fence

Tom Kelley
02-25-2005, 10:30 AM
Hi, I am new to the Creek and would like some input. I want to buy a router table and fence. The router that will go in the table will be the Bosch 1617EVS, which I love compared to my old Craftsman. I have narrowed it down to three possibilities: Rockler, MLCS and Hartville Tool. If anyone has had experience with one of these I would appreciate any opinions. Who knows you might prevent me from making a big mistake. And I've made some beauties!
Thanks,
Tom Kelley
:confused:

JayStPeter
02-25-2005, 11:18 AM
I like the Woodpeck inserts myself. Their Al insert is the same size as the Plungelift and PRL. So, if you ever upgrade, you don't need to toss the table.
As for tables, I've made a few of them. Making your own gives you the flexibility to design in the options you like. If you don't like it, another piece of MDF and the other half of the formica piece you used last time will make a new one. Build your own fence too.
My feeling is that you don't really know what you want and what you like until you've used one. So, start with something simple and see what features you would like to add. Then modify or rebuild the parts you want changed. I used a piece of MDF clamped to the table as my fence for a year or so.
I currently use a plungelift and a Jointech cabinetmakers system. I like them, but went through a number of different variants to get there. I have built a couple fences dedicated to a specific purpose to go along with it (although they were lost in my last move along with some other router accessories).

Jay

Cecil Arnold
02-25-2005, 3:16 PM