PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a #3 or #4 Smoothing plane (or something similar) what do I need to find?

Nick Sorenson
09-20-2011, 10:08 AM
I am new to planes but I have determined I need a small smoothing plane for what I'm doing (smoothing wood blanks after the planer). I build musical instruments. I think it's a #3 or a #4 that I'm after. Any ideas what I should look for? It seems like the old Stanley's are abundant at almost any junk tool sale. What do I look for if I get a Stanley? If I don't get a stanley what else should I look for. I'm not necessarily set on a #3 or #4 plane, maybe a Japanese plane? I'm not sure. I just need something to easily take out the planer marks.

Chris Griggs
09-20-2011, 10:11 AM
If you want to go vintage call, Walt Q at http://brasscityrecords.com/toolworks/new tools.html. Or talk to Sandy Moss at http://www.sydnassloot.com/tools.htm. Either will get you into a high quality vintage smoother at a fair price.

Also, make sure you have a basic sharpening setup - the best plane is useless with a dull blade.

Terry Beadle
09-20-2011, 10:42 AM
For musical instruments, I would think a #3 would be better than a #4 but it's almost a toss up.

The advice regarding a basic sharpening setup is dead on. If you can build musical instruments, you probably have the skills needed to build your own planes. I would get a woodie blade from Hock and make your own. You'll probably want a jointer too so if you can make the smoother, a jointer can be made to even use the same blade.

Take some time to look on youtube at the sharpening and plane use episodes. It will accelerate your understanding of planes and the blades.