PDA

View Full Version : How do you get a plane iron and chipbreaker edge square to the sides?

Nick Sorenson
09-18-2011, 11:49 PM
I'm a hand plane rookie and have been having trouble with getting the cutting edge square to the iron's to sides. I also am concerned with getting the edge completely straight. Curious how this is done?

Jim Koepke
09-19-2011, 1:01 AM
I'm a hand plane rookie and have been having trouble with getting the cutting edge square to the iron's to sides. I also am concerned with getting the edge completely straight. Curious how this is done?

Nick,

I am curious if you are trying to make the cutting edge square to the sides for using on a shooting board or for another reason.

It also would be helpful to know what model or kind of plane you are asking about.

This is called lateral adjustment. Different planes have different ways of making this adjustment. There is usually either a lever to adjust or on some planes one has to administer a light tap to move the blade from side to side. On some planes, especially low angle block planes, it is easier to just loosen the cap a little and move the blade with your fingers.

One place you might want to look is in the "Sticky" near the top of the conference, Neanderthal wisdom/FAQs at:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?103805-Neanderthal-wisdom-FAQs

There are a few posts with information on using hand planes. Some show setting the lateral adjuster.

For most uses of a hand plane, one wants the blade's edge to line up with the sole of the plane. One would think the sole of a plane would be square with the sides, but this isn't always the case. If the plane is not being used for shooting or rabbeting, then being dead on square isn't real important.

To give the best answer to your question there is some information needed.

What are you using to sharpen your blades?

What hand sharpening set up do you have?

Do you have a grinder?

It would also be helpful to know what planes you have.

jtk