PDA

View Full Version : I have got a lot to learn about hand cut dovetails...

John Dingman
02-24-2005, 10:11 PM
Well this is my first attempt at em:

http://www.johnswoodshop.us/Images/First%20Hand%20Cut%20Dovetail%20004.jpg

The pic makes it look better than it actually is. :rolleyes: I have to learn what side of the line to stay on. Being a power tool junkie for so many years, I am a little clumsy with the chisels. I damaged some of the tails trying to clean them out. But I learned a lot and I am looking forward to my next attempt tomorrow, and then again Saturday. I am going to practice until I get it.

It was a refreshing experience to have no noise in the shop the entire time I was in there, except for the sound of a hand saw and some banging on the chisels.

Leif, thanks for the saw!!! :D And Walt Quadrato and Bob Smalser thanks for the chisels! This was a great learning experience for me.

And thanks for all the encouragement gathered on this forum!
John

Roger Myers
02-24-2005, 10:39 PM
John...Great first set! It only gets better and better! And yes, the quiet (or in my case, some nice music) is a real benefit.
Keep em coming!!

Jim Dunn
02-24-2005, 10:56 PM
I'd say not very much John!! Those look terrific. Much prettier than machine cut tails. But where's the rest of the box?? Ohhhh, I get it, your making 90' cuts for corner glue ups;)

John Scarpa
02-24-2005, 11:09 PM
Last fall on a trip to Italy I stayed in an 18th century hotel that has been in the same family for 4 generations. The room was filled with antiques. I couldn't resist photographing the dovetails on a chest of drawers. When we look at these we have to ask ourselves if we are trying to make ours too good. If you look closely you will see that the saw cuts extend beyond the tails in some cases.

Jim Dunn
02-24-2005, 11:16 PM
John, I don't think they use glasses or razors over there either.

Dennis McDonaugh
02-24-2005, 11:21 PM