PDA

View Full Version : Bubbles in HVLP waterborne finish

Alan Lightstone
09-16-2011, 12:36 PM
Don't know what's causing this, but I'd love some advice how to eliminate this problem. I'm getting lots of small bubbles in the finishes I'm spraying with my HVLP gun. I'm a total HVLP newbie, so I'm not sure where I'm screwing this up. I'm using a Fuji XPC gun, and a Fuji Gold 4 HVLP turbine. Using a #3 needle/aircap (1mm, .039").

The bubbles remain after the finish dries, and are permanent.

Here's a picture of how they look:

Any clue as to what is causing this, and any suggestions for eliminating the problem?

Scott Holmes
09-16-2011, 8:14 PM
Are you sure it's bubbles and not dust? Difficult to tell in the picture.

Alan Lightstone
09-17-2011, 12:10 AM
Pretty sure it's bubbles. Sorry, cell phone picture.

Scott Holmes
09-17-2011, 12:14 PM
Maybe air that escaped from the wood.. Light sanding and another coat should fix it.

Sam Hamory
09-17-2011, 5:46 PM
Alan,

Is it possible that the finish was shaken? If you shake a waterbourne finish or latex paint the bubbles stay in it all the way to the project.

Howard Acheson
09-17-2011, 5:59 PM
What is the finish you are using?

Scott Holmes
09-17-2011, 9:48 PM
Sam, he's spraying. I think the HVLP eliminated any bubbles that may have been in the finish due to mixing...

Alan Lightstone
09-17-2011, 10:54 PM
It's Target Coatings EM2000, though I had a similar incident with General Finishes High Performance.

New Gun/Turbine, newbie to HVLP, so I'm thinking it's a setup issue. Just don't know what.

Howard Acheson
09-18-2011, 10:13 AM
Let me suggest you purchase Charron's Spray Finishing. Amazon will have it. It will tell you about your equipment, how to set it up and adjust it, how to "read" the finish and how to best apply a finish.