PDA

View Full Version : Thinning General Arm-R-Seal urethane topcoat that might have dried out a bit?

John W Henderson
09-15-2011, 12:10 AM
I'm an extreme novice when it comes to finishing. I went with General Arm-R-Seal oil & urethane topcoat (semi-gloss) as shown HERE (http://www.generalfinishes.com/retail-products/oil-base-top-coats/arm-r-seal-urethane-topcoat) since it was an easy to use wiping finish. After using it for several small projects, subsequent layers must have accumulated in the trough such that the lid didn't seal anymore (but I didn't know this). I used it in March on a project and then didn't need it until recently in perhaps July/Aug. When I went to open it, it opened extremely easily and I realized the issue with the seal.

I tried it on a piece of wood and it seemed a bit thicker. Not unusable, but it seemed "gelled" up right away vs. my remembering having a couple minutes of open time before it started to thicken just a bit. The can says not to thin it, and I'm inquiring about why this is and if it's possible that I could add something to it to be able to use it.

Again, it's not horridly ruined, and I have quite a bit of the can left and would love if it was just a tad more thin. It wants to streak as if it's just a tad too thick to really wet out the surface smoothly before drying (thus, when dry it shows the applicator lines here and there).

Any suggestions?

I guess I could just try some in a small container, but thought others might know why the can advises against thinning.

Harvey Pascoe
09-15-2011, 7:55 AM
If it has not GELLED, then you can thin it no problem, otherwise toss it.

Howard Acheson
09-15-2011, 6:10 PM
Being frugal and using possibly damaged finish is not a good idea. If it has been improperly covered for the period of time you say, it will have begun to oxidize from its long term exposure to oxygen.