PDA

View Full Version : Saw Injuries

Jeremy Toomey
09-14-2011, 8:31 PM
Hi,

I am a hobbyist who also happens to be a an orthopedic surgery resident in the midwest who will be doing a fellowship in hand surgery in a few years. I am preparing to give a presentation on the effects of saw injuries to the hand. I am particularly interested in the economic impact it has had on patient's lives such as the ability to continue your job as well as your hobbies. What I am looking for with this post is anyone who has experienced a saw injury that has required a trip to the ER for sutures or more involved care from someone such as myself. I'm interested in your profession prior to the injury, whether that has changed as a result of the injury and whether or not your dominant hand was involved. This is NOT a formal research effort in any way. I simply want to take an informal poll to illustrate that these injuries occur to people from all walks of life and that they have a much larger economic impact beyond the dollars spent within the healthcare system. Any replies are appreciated and I completely understand if folks are reluctant to respond. No one will be identified during the presentation. All of the responses gathered are going to be used in a generic manner, likely a simple table or graph of some type. Please feel free to PM me if you would like to participate, but not in a public forum.

Hopefully this is kosher with the moderators and doesn't run afoul of any of the rules of the road here. This seemed like the best site to gather information on this. There is only one paper I know of in the orthopedic literature dealing with the economics of this injury, despite the fact that in 4 years of residency I have unfortunately completed numerous amputations from saw injuries and it is a rather common event that is life changing.

Also, thanks for all of the great advice and inspiration I have taken from this site as a long time lurker. It is much appreciated.

Thanks.